Texas School of Sleep Medicine
&
Technology

TSSMT

5290 Medical Dr, San Antonio, TX 78229

1-866-614-6007

education@TexasSleepSchool.com

American Academy of Sleep Medicine
A-STEP Introductory Course

a-stepThis technical certificate program is an 80-hour program and is composed of didactic and clinical instruction. It is designed to prepare the student for employment in a Sleep Disorders Center as a Polysomnographic Trainee. Graduates of the program will be able to communicate and interact effectively with sleep disorder patients. Students are trained in the physical and physiological aspects of sleep disorders, familiarity with the different sleep disorders, application of monitoring electrodes utilizing the 10-20 International System as well as other ancillary monitoring equipment, calibrate monitoring equipment, and utilize proper montage and protocol used during polysomnographic studies.
The graduates are required to be able to prepare the patient for testing and successfully perform polysomnographic studies, familiarity with EKG and EEG abnormalities and the use of proper documentation and note taking, have a good understanding and be able to administer CPAP, BiPAP, Auto-set PAP and oxygen (O2) therapy.
There will be some exposure to the scoring of sleep records, but ability to achieve this expertise is outside the scope of this curriculum.  Future experience in the field and additional courses can be taken to achieve this goal. Completion of this course does not constitute certification or credentialing in sleep medicine or polysomnographic technology.


2016 Dates Offered

Registration Online

Monday, Feb. 1, 2016 - Friday, Feb. 12, 2016

register online

Monday, Mar. 7, 2016 - Friday, Mar. 18, 2016

register online

Monday, Apr. 4, 2016 - Friday, Apr. 15, 2016

register online

Monday, May 2, 2016 - Friday, May 13, 2016

register online

Monday, Aug. 1, 2016 - Friday, Aug. 12, 2016

register online

Monday, Sep.12, 2016 - Friday, Sep. 23, 2016

register online

Monday, Oct. 3, 2016 - Friday, Oct. 14, 2016

register online

Monday, Nov. 7, 2016 - Friday, Nov. 18, 2016

register online

Monday, Dec. 5, 2016 - Friday, Dec. 16, 2016

register online

Course Syllabus

Copyright © 2013. All Rights Reserved. Texas School of Sleep Medicine & Technology

 Designed by Texas School of Sleep Medicine & Technology.